8 films competing for the “Annual Film Association” awards


01:03 PM

Wednesday 15 January 2020

I wrote – Mona Al-Muji:

Competing for the 46th session awards of the annual Film Society Film Festival, 8 films shown last year.

The management of the annual Film Society Festival of Egyptian Cinema, headed by Director of Photography Mahmoud Abdel-Samea, in its 46th session, which will be held from January 25 to February 1, announced the eight films that will be displayed at the festival according to the arrangement of the commercial show, namely: “The guest” by Hadi El-Bagoury , “The Secret Men’s Club” by Khaled Al-Halfawi, “The Passage” by Sharif Arafa, “The Blue Elephant 2” directed by Marwan Hamed, “The Treasure 2” by Sharif Arafa, and “Walad Rizk 2” by Tariq Al-Arian, and “ The imagination of “directed by Khaled Merhi, and it will be the last film to be shown” Lama Bentold “, directed by Tamer Ezzat.

“The festival always raises a slogan towards an Egyptian Egyptian cinema, and through a referendum between members of the association and critics and a number of specialists, 8 films were chosen to compete with the festival awards from among 33 films shown commercially in 2019, and (122) will be presented to a committee Arbitration only for arbitration in the directing branch is the first time work, where shows will be held for these films from January 25 to February 1 at the Artistic Creativity Center of the Opera Square, after which the judges will announce the names of the winners, distribute the prizes, and honor next Saturday, February 8.

The festival administration announced last July that it honored the late critic Youssef Sharif, may God bless him, for his dedication to the 46th annual festival of Egyptian cinema, stressing that he is one of the first members of the association since its inception, in addition to being a mobile encyclopedia for world cinema, as he took over the presidency of the Film Society in Cairo from 1980 to 1998 , And he was also the president of the sessions of the festival held by the association, and he is one of the first members of the association, and he was also responsible for the foreign shows that were presented within the association’s activity, and the seminars that were held after it to discuss it.

The association announced that it honored a number of filmmakers, namely the great director Dawood Abdel-Sayed, the scriptwriter Wahid Hamid, the musician Munir Al-Wassimi, the artist Lotfi Labib, actress Jehan Fadel and the engineer of decoration Nohad Bahjat and the critic Salah Hashem. She witnessed in the course of her life.

The tradition initiated by the association last year to honor the symbols and pioneers of cinematic art will be completed, by honoring the artist Ali Al-Kassar, the artist Tawfiq Al-Daqin, the scriptwriter Abu Al-Saud Al-Abyari and the director Mamdouh Shoukry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here