Libya truce has not yet collapsed


Source: Dubai –

Turkish Defense Minister, Khulusi Akar, said today, Wednesday, that it is too early to say that cease-fire In Libya, it collapsed after Khalifa Haftar, commander of the Libyan National Army, refused to sign a binding armistice agreement during talks this week.

“We cannot say that the cease-fire has collapsed,” Akar told reporters in Ankara. “This interpretation is premature.” He added that Ankara was awaiting the outcome of Moscow’s efforts.

Akar pointed out that Turkey has sent a training and cooperation team that is now working in Libya.

Haftar conditions

Al-Arabiya and Al-Hadath sources reported Tuesday evening that the Libyan National Army commander, Major General Khalifa Haftar, had informed the Russian side of a number of conditions in order to maintain the Tripoli armistice, including a time limit of 45 days to 90 days for armed militias to hand over weapons Full.

He also demanded that there be a committee of the Libyan National Army besides the United Nations responsible for inventorying and delivering weapons, provided that this work be entirely under the Libyan armed forces.

Turkish armor with fist Libyan army
Turkish armor with fist Libyan army

To that, Haftar informed the Russian side again of his refusal to be an international mediator, considering that the mediating countries are neutral countries, which adhere to support Libyas stability, and not support armed militias or send extremists.

It is noteworthy that the clashes renewed on Tuesday between the Libyan army forces and the armed militias of the Al-Wefaq government in a number of fighting axes in the capital, Tripoli, hours after the ceasefire agreement collapsed, against the background of General Khalifa Hifter’s refusal to sign it, because he ignored a number of his demands and reservations regarding the participation of Turkey oversees this agreement.

On Sunday, Germany will host a summit on Libya in which the parties to the conflict and their main supporters abroad and envoys from the United Nations, the United States, Russia, Britain, France, China, Turkey and Italy will participate.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here