Zamalek establishes Egyptian hegemony over the African Super


Consolidating the Egyptian hegemony over the African Super Cup, Zamalek was crowned fourth in the continental competition, and singled out the historical description of the champions, behind Al-Ahly of Egypt, the record number of coronations.

Zamalek, the African Confederation Cup champion, snapped the African Super Cup after beating Esperance, the CAF Champions League champion, with three goals to one goal, in the confrontation hosted by the Thani Bin Jassim Stadium in the Qatari capital, Doha, to recover the title that was absent from its treasures 17 years ago.

Zamalek broke its partnership with Congolese Mazembe in second place in the historical ranking of the champions of the competition, where the latter was crowned with three titles, behind Al-Ahly whose players raised the cup on six occasions.

Zamalek was crowned the first title in 1994 in South Africa, after an Egyptian classico gathered Al-Ahly, where Zamalek was crowned the African Clubs Cup, the Champions League in 1993, Al-Ahly was crowned the African Clubs Cup Cup winners in the same year, and the white team won the Super with a clean goal scored by its attacker Ayman Mansour.

In a new Egyptian confrontation in 1997, Cairo International Stadium embraced Zamalek, the African Club Cup champion 1996 champions with the Arab contractors, the African Club Cup champion cups in the same year, and the confrontation ended in a negative tie, before Zamalek excelled with a penalty shootout.

The third title was taken by Zamalek in 2003 in Cairo as well, after culminating in a new title in the African Clubs Cup 2002 Champions League, to face Wydad Moroccan who won the African Clubs Cup champion cups, and defeated him with three goals against a goal, and scored the goals of Zamalek in that confrontation Mohamed Abdel Wahed, Hazem Imam And Abdul Halim Ali.

Egyptian titles in the African Super rose to 10 titles, to continue to dominate by a wide margin against Morocco, the closest stalker with four titles, while Tunisian and Congolese clubs achieved 3 titles.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here