After allowing the Israelis … the UAE will stop granting visas to citizens of 13 countries, most of which are Muslim


The UAE has stopped issuing visas to citizens of 13 countries, most of which are Muslim-majority countries, including Iran, Syria and Somalia, according to a document issued by a government business complex.

The document issued by the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship in the Emirates and distributed to companies operating in the complex, and reviewed by Reuters, indicated a publication from the Immigration Department, which began work on November 18.

She said that requests for work or visit visas are pending for those outside the country from citizens of 13 countries, including Afghanistan, Libya and Yemen, until further notice.

She added that the visa ban also applies to citizens of Algeria, Kenya, Iraq, Lebanon, Pakistan, Tunisia and Turkey.

It was not clear if there were any exceptions to the ban.

A source familiar with the matter told Reuters that the UAE had temporarily stopped issuing entry visas to citizens of Afghanistan, Pakistan and several other countries for security reasons.

The source did not explain the reason for these security considerations, but said that the ban was for a limited period.

The Pakistani Foreign Ministry said last week that the UAE had stopped granting new visas to its citizens and citizens of several other countries.

She added that she is requesting information from the UAE about the reasons for suspending visas and that she believes that the matter is related to the outbreak of the Corona pandemic.

The ministry and the source said that holders of valid visas will not be affected by the new restrictions and can enter the UAE.

It is noteworthy that the UAE signed a memorandum of exemption from visas between the two countries late last month with Israel.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here