13 players dreaming of their first title in Barcelonas historic squad


“More than just a super”, this is how the newspaper “Mundo Deportivo” headlined its report on the final match of the Spanish Super Cup that brings together Barcelona and Athletic Bilbao at La Cartuja stadium in Seville at 10 pm on Sunday.

The Catalan newspaper said that Barcelona, ​​which reaches its best form in the final, will seek to lift the first trophy during the reign of Dutch coach Ronald Koeman, six months after he took over as coach of the team before the start of the current season 2020/2021.

She added that after a year without titles in the last season 2019/2020, which has not happened in 12 years, Barcelona will fight tonight to return to the coronation podiums and consolidate its record in the Spanish Super Cup by winning the 14th title.

Barcelona enter the match after winning five consecutive away victories, four of which were in the Spanish League, during which he managed to rise to third place, in addition to the victory that was achieved last Wednesday in the semi-finals of the Super Cup.

Barca defeated Real Sociedad in Cordoba on penalties after the end of the original and extra time of the match with a 1-1 draw, and brilliant goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen was the hero of the match alongside Ricky Puig, who scored the fifth kick.

Barcelona captain Lionel Messi missed the semi-finals because he felt some muscle pain in his left foot after playing the Granada match in La Liga, but he trained with all his teammates on the stadium and hopes to be fit to face Bilbao.

The Barcelona legend, who won the Ballon d’Or for the best player in the world six previous times, hopes to help his Catalan team to raise a new title that will be No. 35 for him, to enhance his record as the most crowned player in Barcelona with titles between the walls of “Camp Nou”.

On the other hand, in addition to Coman, a total of 13 players can win their first title with Barcelona tonight, namely: Neto, Sergio Dest, Ronaldo Araujo, Oscar Menguisa, Junior Verbo, Frankie de Young, Miralem Pjanic, Pedri, Mateus Fernandez. Antoine Griezmann, Francesco Trinkau, Martin Braithwaite and Anso Fati.

The duo, Sergio Busquets and Gerard Pique, can claim their 30th title with Barcelona and are close to Andres Iniesta, the second most-crowned player with 32 titles with Barca, behind Lionel Messi, who tops the historical standings with 34 titles.

At the global level, by adding the club and national team titles, Leo Messi has won 36 titles equal to Ryan Giggs, and is only surpassed in football history by Danny Alves (42 titles), Andres Iniesta (37 titles) and Maxwell (37 titles).

Barcelona players most crowned titles in history:

1- Lionel Messi (2004-) 34 titles.
2- Andres Iniesta (2002-18) 32 titles.
3- Gerard Pique (2008-) 29 titles.
4- Sergio Busquets (2008-) 29 titles.
5- Xavi Hernandez (1998-2015) 25 titles.
6- Danny Alves (2008-16) 24 titles.
7- Carles Puyol (1999-14) 21 titles.
8- Victor Valdes (2002-14) 21 titles.
9- Pedro Rodriguez (2008-15) 20 titles.
10- Sergi Roberto (2010-) 18 titles.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here