The blog stated: “We know that hackers sometimes delete content when they access an account, and until now people have no way to easily recover their photos and videos, but starting today, we will ask people to verify first that they are the legitimate account holders when deleting content. Or, permanently restore it from Recently Deleted.
How does the Recently Deleted feature work
Pictures, videos, IGTV videos and stories that you choose to delete are removed from your account immediately and moved to the Recently Deleted folder. Deleted stories not in the archive will remain in the folder for up to 24 hours, and everything else will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
During those 30 days, you can access deleted content by going to Settings> Account> Recently Deleted in the latest version of the Instagram app, and from there you can either restore it or delete it permanently.