America stops importing dogs from 113 countries, including Saudi Arabia and Jordan


Subscribe to receive the most important news

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said on Monday it will temporarily halt imports of dogs from 113 countries designated as high-risk for rabies, including Saudi Arabia and Jordan, as of July 14.

The decision prohibits the import of all dogs, including puppies, recreational dogs, and dogs that have exited and returned to the United States from high-risk countries.
It also includes dogs from other countries but who have spent the previous six months in high-risk countries.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said among the countries included in the decision were Russia, China, India, Brazil, Peru, Kenya, El Salvador, Guatemala, Belarus, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia and Jordan.

Many of the world’s dog vaccination programs have been halted during the coronavirus pandemic, said Emily Bracci, a veterinary officer at the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. She noted an increasing number of rabies infections in Haiti and Peru as a result of the discontinuation of dog vaccination programmes.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here