Nobel Peace Prize: For the first time in its history, the prize is awarded to journalists


Maria Ressa and Dmitriy Muratov

picture released, Niklas Menmehed © Nobel Prize Outreach.

comment on the photo,

Maria Ressa and Dmitriy Muratov

The Norwegian Nobel Committee announced Friday the award of the Nobel Peace Prize to Filipino journalists Maria Ressa and Russian Dmitriy Muratov for their “courageous struggle for freedom of expression” in their countries.

Committee chair Berit Reis-Andersen added in Oslo that Maria Ressa and Dmitriy Muratov “represent all journalists who defend this ideal in a world where democracy and press freedom face increasingly unfavorable conditions.”

In its 120-year history, the Nobel Peace Prize has never rewarded independent journalism that allows decision-makers to be held accountable and helps weed out misinformation.

“Accurate reporting that helps us stay informed and get an idea of ​​current events in real time is essential to good public debate and democratic institutions,” said Peace Research Institute Director Henrik Urdahl.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here