A disturbing mutation: Britain and Israel ban travel from African countries


distance Discover the new breed Alarmingly, Britain announced Thursday that it will prevent travelers from six African countries from entering its territory due to a new mutated version of the Corona virus, which is likely to be more contagious than the previous ones detected by South Africa.

British Health Minister Sajid Javid said that the ban will include all flights from the six countries, namely South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Botswana, as of Friday noon at 12:00 GMT.

Also, Israel announced a travel ban from several countries in southern Africa, amid fears of a disturbing mutation.

Seven countries were placed on the high-risk red list: South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Esswatini.

To this, a group of scientists announced the discovery of a new mutation of Covid-19 in South Africa, the African country most affected by the epidemic, which is witnessing a new increase in the number of infections, according to AFP.

A disturbing mutant

“Unfortunately, we have discovered a worrying new mutant in South Africa,” virologist Tulio de Oliveira told a press conference.

It is noteworthy that, according to the South African scientists who previously discovered the beta mutant, the “B.1.1.529” mutant has a “very high” number of mutations.

At this point, scientists do not know how effective the COVID-19 vaccines will be in fighting this new mutated virus.

Injuries in Botswana and Hong Kong

While other infections with this mutation were recorded in neighboring Botswana and Hong Kong in a person who returned from a trip in South Africa.

It is noteworthy that South Africa, which fears the emergence of a new wave of the epidemic by the end of the year, is the most affected in the continent by Covid-19, with more than 2.9 million infections and 89,600 deaths.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here