WhatsApp will allow users to “delete messages” after sending them at any time

0
7



WhatsApp recently introduced the beta version of Android 2.21.23.1, and according to a report by WaBetaInfo, the update shows the new changes that may currently be coming to the delete feature for everyone.

Currently, WhatsApp allows its users to delete messages from personal as well as group chats within about an hour – an hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds to be exact. The event that the recipient did not read the message before deletion.

But the new development indicates that this time limit can be increased to an unspecified time in a future update.

What is the new unspecified deadline?

In its report, WaBetaInfo shared a screenshot that allowed it to delete a three-month-old message, as the time limit for deleting a message in the future can be indefinite, meaning that future WhatsApp users will be able to delete “without thinking about when it was sent.”

“The new version of ‘Delete Messages for Everyone’ allows you to delete a message that was sent 3 months ago: this is because WhatsApp plans to change the time limit in a future update,” the report says.

Is there any timeline for the new feature?

The report says that this new version of Delete Messages for Everyone is in development, and as we mentioned earlier, it was introduced with the new Android 2.21.23.1 beta, and WhatsApp’s “Delete for Everyone” feature was first introduced in 2017. At the time of the release, the The time limit for deleting a message was set to 7 minutes, and the limit was raised to over an hour after a month.



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here